Scott-McKenna Memorial Scholarship

Rocky Mountain Outdoor Writers & Photographers, Inc. accepts applications for its coveted Scott-McKenna Memorial Scholarship each Spring. (Questions? E-mail the scholarship chair.) Named in memory of J.B. Scott and Joe McKenna, founders of RMOWP, the award is given annually to a student with a career interest in the outdoors. Students in high school (only seniors will be considered) need not have a declared major, but college students should have declared a major.

Candidates with an interest in Natural Resources, Forestry, Rangeland Ecology, Wildlife Biology, Agriculture or related fields are eligible for the scholarship. Photography or journalism majors, with a special interest in wildlife outdoor photography/journalism are also eligible.

Since 2008, RMOWP has awarded up to $2000 in scholarships each year. The monies, primarily raised through the auction at our Annual Conference, are paid directly to the college to offset tuition and fees.

Questions regarding the scholarship should be sent to the Scholarship Chair. Here is the application in PDF format.Please mail your completed application to the address shown thereon. The winner will be notified by June 10th, and will be posted here by the end of June.

Applications must be post-marked by May 30th to be considered for that year’s scholarship award.

For information about other scholarship opportunities, visit

Recent winners

2017 Scott-McKenna Scholarship Winner - This year’s $2,000 scholarship winner is Heather Androwick of West Chester, Pennsylvania. Heather has started her senior year, working toward her Bachelor of Fine Arts with a major concentration in photography, at Kutztown University in Kutztown, Pennsylvania. She has taken courses in Darkroom, Intro to Digital Media, Intro to Digital Photography, Theme Practices in Photography, History […]
2016 Scott-McKenna Scholarship Winner - This year’s $2000 scholarship was awarded to Carlen Smith, who is studying wildlife sustainability and ecosystems science at Tarleton State University in Stephenville, Texas.
2015 Scott-McKenna Scholarship Winner - Scholarship Chair Mike Hammond announced that the 2015 Scott-McKenna Memorial Scholarship has been awarded to Andrhea Massey of Mart, Texas. Andrhea sent the following bio, plus an article (see Coyote Studies). Congratulations and thank you, Andrhea. I was born at home in a small house surrounded by towering pine trees. I was the youngest of […]
2014 Scott-McKenna Scholarship Winner - The winner of this year’s Scott-McKenna scholarship is Sarah Kinney of Shelburne, New Hampshire, a journalism major at Simmons College in Boston. Sarah has been interning at the Berlin Daily Sun, a New Hampshire newspaper, often covering outdoor subjects, and this fall she will be editor-in-chief of the Simmons College campus newspaper.
2013 Scott-McKenna Scholarship Awarded - Catlin Carrico of Swanton, Maryland, was selected for the 2013 Scott-McKenna Scholarship award, according to scholarship chair Mike Hammond. Hammond said she was chosen from among numerous highly-qualified candidates based not only on the merit of her application but what those she listed as personal references had to say about her. Catlin graduated from West […]
2012 Scott-McKenna Scholarship Awarded - Congratulations to Monica Craig, the St. Petersburg, Florida student who is the recipient of RMOWP’s 2012 scholarship of $2,000. Scholarship chairman Mike Hammond said that Ms. Craig is receiving the award because of her love and devotion to the great outdoors as well as her writing and photography skills. Hammond said that although the number […]
2011 Scott-McKenna Scholarship Awarded - This year’s Scott-McKenna Memorial Scholarship was awarded to 18-year old Pennsylvania student Hannah Misner. A freshman at Penn State Mont Alto, Ms. Misner is majoring in animal sciences. She recently graduated from Shalom Christian Academy, where she studied photography and won a number of awards for her wildlife photography. “I love to spend my free […]
2010 Scott-Mckenna Scholarship Awarded - A North Carolina college student has been named this year’s winner of the $1,500 Scott-McKenna Scholarship, according to RMOWP Scholarship Chairman Mike Hammond. Winner Christopher “Tyler” West is a resident of Topton, North Carolina, and attends Elon University in Elon, North Carolina, where he has a declared major of broadcast journalism and a minor in […]